Today was closing day on our new home!! Take a moment to silently celebrate with me…

Now, onward and upward!

Since I have never owned a home, I have never experienced the world of watering one’s own lawn. Here in Texas, also known as the seventh circle of hell… affectionately… I assumed that most homes have sprinkler systems installed. To my surprise, ours does not.

The first challenge is that the City of Austin has certain days and hours during which we are allowed to water during the summer season. Since the next allowed time slot to water our yard is on Sunday, and it is currently Tuesday, I’m not sure what to do about this conundrum.

Additionally, I have no idea how to water a lawn by hand. I remember the sprinklers hooked up to the water hose that my parents put out in the summers when I was a child but I assumed they were for my enjoyment and to be used as miniature water parks. <shrug> Further investigation will be necessary.

Have: water hose (a very long one)

Do not have: sprinkler, spray nozzle, or any other attachments to disperse water effectively; ability to post bail if arrested for watering on illegal watering days; money to install a sprinkler system

Will follow up when more information becomes available.


Have I mentioned that my family is the best?!?

Now it is Tuesday, the day after closing, and my husband, mother-in-law, and father-in-law have all set up an elaborate system of sprinklers, hoses, and timers to water the lawn.

